Mathyssen Elected NDP Caucus Chair

NDP MPs elected Irene Mathyssen (London—Fanshawe) today as National Caucus Chair. They also selected Ruth Ellen Brosseau (Berthier-Maskinongé) to be Vice-Chair.

“I am honoured and determined to represent my colleagues with conviction and energy. The NDP is ready to replace the Conservatives in 2015,” said Irene Mathyssen.

Before being elected MP in 2006, Irene Mathyssen served as MPP and cabinet minister in Ontario. She will be the 5th woman to act as Caucus Chair for the NDP (after Audrey McLaughlin, Judy Wasylycia-Leis, Jean Crowder and Nycole Turmel). In addition to her caucus functions, she is the Seniors critic.